IELTS includes four tests which are taken in the following order:

  • Writing (60 minutes)
  • Reading (60 minutes)
  • Listening (30 minutes)
  • Speaking (11-14 minutes)

At ICTE, all four tests are taken on the same day. The Writing, Reading, and Listening tests are held from 8.30am-12.00pm. The Speaking test is held in the afternoon.

You will receive a score from 1-9 for each test and an overall score.

Test formats

The Reading and Writing tests are available in two versions:

  • Academic - for people who want to study at university (including UQ) or register with a professional association
  • General Training - for people who want to migrate to an English-speaking country.

Make sure you ask the organisation you will give your results to which test you need to sit.

UK migration

If you are taking IELTS to migrate to the United Kingdom you cannot use an ICTE IELTS test result. Find out which test you need and how to apply

More information