Occupational English Test (OET)

The English language test for healthcare professionals

About the Occupational English Test (OET)

OET is an international English language test that assesses the language and communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practise in an English-speaking environment.

OET tests international health practitioners in the following 12 professions:

Dentistry
Dietetics
Medicine
Nursing
Occupational Therapy
Optometry
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Radiography
Speech Pathology
Veterinary Science

 

Recognition

OET is recognised and trusted by more than 30 regulatory healthcare bodies and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. Many organisations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.

In addition, OET is recognised by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a number of visa categories, including work and student visas. View a list of the Australian and international organisations that recognise OET.

How to apply

To apply, select the next available test date and complete the official OET application form online.  

Before booking, please check Professions available on Test Dates

Test date Applications open Results published
Sat 14 Apr 2018 Mon 18 Jan to Wed 21 Mar 2018  Wed 9 May 2018
Sat 19 May 2018 Mon 15 Feb to Tues 24 Apr 2018  Tue 12 Jun 2018
Sat 16 Jun 2018 Thurs 22 Mar to Wed 23 May 2018  Book Now Mon 9 Jul 2018
Sat 14 Jul 2018 Thurs 26 Apr to Wed 20 Jun 2018   Book Now Mon 6 Aug 2018
Sat 11 Aug 2018 Thurs 24 May to Wed 18 Jul 2018 Mon 3 Sept 2018
Sun 9 Sept 2018 Thurs 21 Jun to Wed 15 Aug 2018 Tues 2 Oct 2018
Sat 6 Oct 2018 Thurs 19 Jul to Wed 12 Sept 2018 Mon 29 Oct 2018
Sat 3 Nov 2018 Thurs 16 Aug to Wed 10 Oct 2018 Tues 27 Nov 2018
Sun 2 Dec 2018 Thurs 13 Sept to Wed 7 Nov 2018 Mon 24 Dec 2018
  • Applications can be submitted for the next available test date only. If you want to sit a later test date, please return when applications open for that date.
  • Applications close at 12.00 midnight Australian Eastern Standard Time on the date.

Results are published to candidates' online records as soon as they are finalised. Official Statements of Results are sent out via post approximately 5-7 business days after online e-results are published.


Learn more about why to choose the Occupational English Test (OET)

Mr Hardik Patel, a nurse from India, completed OET in 2015.

Anna Mylis is a pharmacist who took OET to prove her English language proficiency to practice in Australia.

Orthopaedic Surgeon Gunnar took OET to work in Australia.