Occupational English Test (OET)

OET - Coronavirus Update 

Click here to access OET's "Candidate Frequently Asked Questions"

The English language test for healthcare professionals

About the Occupational English Test (OET)

OET is an international English language test that assesses the language and communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practise in an English-speaking environment.

OET tests international health practitioners in the following 12 professions:

Dentistry
Dietetics
Medicine
Nursing
Occupational Therapy
Optometry
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Radiography
Speech Pathology
Veterinary Science

 

Recognition

OET is recognised and trusted by more than 30 regulatory healthcare bodies and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. Many organisations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.

In addition, OET is recognised by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a number of visa categories, including work and student visas. View a list of the Australian and international organisations that recognise OET.

How to apply

To apply, select the next available test date and complete the official OET application form online.  

Before booking, please check Professions available on Test Dates

Test date Applications open Results published
Sun 11 October 2020 Wed 07 April 2020 to Tues 15 September 2020  Book Now Thurs 29 Oct 2020
Sat 21 November 2020 Wed 07 April 2020 to Mon 26 October 2020  Book Now Thurs 10 Dec 2020
Sat 09 January 2021 Mon 05 October 2020 to Fri 04 December 2020  Book Now Fri 29 Dec 2021
Sat 06 February 2021 Fri 16 October 2020 to Mon 11 January 2021  Book Now Thurs 25 Feb 2021
Sat 06 March 2021 Fri 16 October 2020 to Mon 08 February 2021  Book Now Thurs 25 Mar 2021
  • Applications close at 12.00 midnight Australian Eastern Standard Time on the date.

Results are published to candidates' online records as soon as they are finalised. Official Statements of Results are sent out via post approximately 5-7 business days after online e-results are published.


Learn more about why to choose the Occupational English Test (OET)

Mr Hardik Patel, a nurse from India, completed OET in 2015.

Anna Mylis is a pharmacist who took OET to prove her English language proficiency to practice in Australia.

Orthopaedic Surgeon Gunnar took OET to work in Australia.