Occupational English Test (OET)

The English language test for healthcare professionals

About the Occupational English Test (OET)

OET is an international English language test that assesses the language and communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practise in an English-speaking environment.

OET tests international health practitioners in the following 12 professions:

Dentistry
Dietetics
Medicine
Nursing
Occupational Therapy
Optometry
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Radiography
Speech Pathology
Veterinary Science

 

Recognition

OET is recognised and trusted by more than 30 regulatory healthcare bodies and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. Many organisations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.

In addition, OET is recognised by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a number of visa categories, including work and student visas. View a list of the Australian and international organisations that recognise OET.

How to apply

To apply, select the next available test date and complete the official OET application form online.  

Before booking, please check Professions available on Test Dates

Test date Applications open Results published
Sat 9 Nov 2019 Tues 6 Aug 2019 to Mon 14 Oct 2019   Thurs 28 Nov 2019
Sat 7 Dec 2019 Tues 27 Aug 2019 to Mon 4 Nov 2019  Thurs 2 Jan 2020
Sat 11 Jan 2020 Wed 25 Sept 2019 to Mon 9 Dec 2019 Book Now Fri 31 Jan 2020
Sat 8 Feb 2020 Wed 30 Oct 2019 to Mon 13 Dec 2020 Book Now Thurs 27 Feb 2020
Sat 7 Mar 2020 Wed 27 Nov 2019 to Mon 10 Feb 2020  Book Now Fri 27 Mar 2020
  • Applications close at 12.00 midnight Australian Eastern Standard Time on the date.

Results are published to candidates' online records as soon as they are finalised. Official Statements of Results are sent out via post approximately 5-7 business days after online e-results are published.


Learn more about why to choose the Occupational English Test (OET)

Mr Hardik Patel, a nurse from India, completed OET in 2015.

Anna Mylis is a pharmacist who took OET to prove her English language proficiency to practice in Australia.

Orthopaedic Surgeon Gunnar took OET to work in Australia.