About the Occupational English Test (OET)

OET is an international English language test that assesses the language and communication skills of healthcare professionals who seek to register and practise in an English-speaking environment.

OET tests international health practitioners in the following 12 professions:

Dentistry
Dietetics
Medicine
Nursing
Occupational Therapy
Optometry
Pharmacy
Physiotherapy
Podiatry
Radiography
Speech Pathology
Veterinary Science

 

Recognition

OET is recognised and trusted by more than 30 regulatory healthcare bodies and councils in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. Many organisations, including hospitals, universities and colleges, are using OET as proof of a candidate’s ability to communicate effectively in a demanding healthcare environment.

In addition, OET is recognised by the Australian Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a number of visa categories, including work and student visas.  View a list of the Australian and international organisations that recognise OET.

How to apply

To apply, select the next available test date and complete the official OET application form online.  

Test date Applications open Results published
Sat 7 Oct 2017 Mon 14 Aug to Sun 17 Sept 2017   Mon 30 Oct 2017
Sat 4 Nov 2017 Mon 18 Sept to Wed 11 Oct 2017 Tue 28 Nov 2017
Sun 3 Dec 2017 Thu 12 Oct to Wed 8 Nov 2017   Book Now Fri 22 Dec 2017
Sat 13 Jan 2018 Thu 9 Nov 2017 to Sun 10 Dec 2017 Tue 6 Feb 2018
Sun 11 Feb 2018 Mon 11 Dec 2017 to Sun 21 Jan 2018 Mon 5 Mar 2018
Sat 10 Mar 2018 Mon 22 Jan to Sun 18 Feb 2018 Fri 6 Apr 2018
Sat 14 Apr 2018 Mon 19 Feb to Sun 25 Mar 2018 Wed 9 May 2018
Sat 19 May 2018 Mon 26 Mar to Sun 29 Apr 2018 Tue 12 Jun 2018
Sat 16 Jun 2018 Mon 30 Apr to Sun 27 May 2018 Mon 9 Jul 2018
  • Applications can be submitted for the next available test date only. If you want to sit a later test date, please return when applications open for that date.
  • Applications close at 12.00 midnight Australian Eastern Standard Time on the date.
  • Results are published to candidates' online records as soon as they are finalised. Official Statements of Results are sent out via post approximately 5-7 business days after online e-results are published.